HYPERTEXT ESSAY

Networked Culture. To be honest, I never really gave much thought to the nature of the internet culture and vast amounts of networks until now.

In 1989, CERN software engineer Tim Berners-Lee invented the ‘World Wide Web, a system of distributing information onto the internet, based on the eagerness and difficulty to exchange information and data. My first exposure and experience with the internet was in 2002, when I was six. Back then, I had little use of it, merely searching the web for pictures of Power Rangers and it’s Japanese counterpart Super Sentai. However, the impact upon using the search engine Google left a profound impact on me, about the vast amount of information on the internet. To this day, Google has remained the main search engine I utilise, as it is consistently the most reliable and the largest in it’s directory to the intended information I search for.

I was late to the growing popularity of Facebook, launched by Mark Zuckerberg in 2004. Personally, I didn’t pay much attention to Facebook and when I did created my account at the start of 2009, I only joined Facebook to look at the photos of my former crush from primary school (romantic I know). I still use Facebook today , though considerably less for social interaction than to pass the time. When Twitter was founded in 2006, many people including myself, believed that it would quickly fail and slowly faded away from existence.We were wrong. The growing popularity of Twitter has a reached a point where it overtook Facebook as the most popular social network, particularity towards teenagers; at the start of the current year (2014), the total number of registered Twitter users is 645, 750, 000 with an average number of tweets per day of 58 million.

However, personally the biggest social network site that I immediately supported was Youtube, a video-sharing website created by Chad Hurley, Steve Chen and Jawed Karim in 2005. Before the creation of Youtube, it was hard to find videos to watch, and to this day I still find it difficult to comprehend how much effort I took to finding online videos on the internet. Youtube still has a impact on the culture of today, because of it’s vast amount of videos shared on the site everyday and the popularity of many youtube users; it has since become a business corporation, with it’s viewers as a form of currency.

All of these social network sites are a part of the vast network culture; while it has become more technologically advancing as the years progress, the fear of how it physiologically is affecting us appears to be a burden to me. People will bring up the argument that we’ve always been a part of a network, and it was only because of the existence of social media that the network has become more visible, with the ability to text, call, skyping among various other forms of networked communication. Despite the very least, the network in my opinion, has actually led people to become more disconnected, as the information and social interactions has become more isolated and more unrealistic to the nature of human interaction. Our bodies’ functionality and mentality are formulated by the effects of how much time we spent in front the network.

Being of the networked culture is fear in my opinion, as while the world is successfully becoming more technologically advanced and communication has become easier, information and social interaction has become more corrupted based our reliance on the network culture.

Standard

Leave a Reply

